Open and shut – CrossFit Open 2017

The 2017 CrossFit Games Open is done. At 5pm PST on Wednesday, all scores were validated and the leaderboards were finalized. It’s been an incredible 5 weeks. This was my second Open and I enjoyed it even more than the first. The #530crew I’ve been training with for the last year has come a long way. We’ve all improved and we’ve all made great strides in our CrossFit journey. My finishing stats are below.

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 18.03.44

I finished inside the top 200 in Northern California in the 40-44 age group. A group of about 750 competitors. A massive jump up the leaderboard for me. I finished 401st last year in a smaller field of about 500. I am over the moon about this.

What are the stand-out things for me:

1. There’s always room to improve.
I re-did 17.1, 3 and 4 this year. I bettered my scores in 17.3 and 4. But I meant this more generally. No matter how good you are at a skill or how strong you are for a lift or how fast you can finish a set of movements, you can always improve – form, technique, speed, how you feel at the end. Keep practicing. Consistency is key.
2. The CrossFit community is amazing.
This has been said again and again by just about everyone who does CrossFit. But it is heard all the time because it bears repeating. The spirit in a CrossFit box is always great – encouraging, supportive, fun and loud. During the Open, this steps up a notch. Our box was no different. The atmosphere during the Open workouts was phenomenal. Many a suffering competitor made it to the finish in large part due to the shouts and screams of the people looking on.
3. Double unders suck!
At least mine do. Even though I’m much better than even a month ago, I still have a long way to go to do these efficiently and for more reps before tripping up. In 17.5 I managed to injure the tendon between my calf and Achille’s during the 9th round of DUs. I finished the workout but the pain meant I was doing one to three DUs at a time and trying to do them on one foot.
4. I LOVE CROSSFIT!!!
Well, maybe I didn’t only learn that because of the Open but it certainly cemented that fact even more concretely. I am addicted. I thoroughly enjoyed the pain and torture which were the Open workouts. I loved testing my limits and my skills. I couldn’t wait to get back into the box this week to start working on the next set of improvements. Look out 18.1, here I come.
IMG_4744
2 thoughts on “Open and shut – CrossFit Open 2017

  1. Well done!

    On Thu, Mar 30, 2017 at 11:49 PM, Remarkable Runs wrote:

    > Robin Thomas posted: “The 2017 CrossFit Games Open is done. At 5pm PST on > Wednesday, all scores were validated and the leaderboards will be > finalized. It’s been an incredible 5 weeks. This was my second Open and I > enjoyed it even more than the first. The #530crew I’ve been tra” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

