17 point 3 and my CrossFit family

IMG_4481

That’s me in the center. Completing my final rep for 17.3 as the clock reached 8 minutes. This was another tough workout, as the Open workouts always are. We rarely, if ever, practice squat snatches in our gym. Usually it’s power snatches or hang power snatches. So going in I had no idea if I’d be able to complete the reps as prescribed for even the first round.

Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 10.26.37

My goal was to try and reach the 135 lb snatches and see if I could make even one. I broke up my chest-to-bar pull-ups from the start and had to do singles on the 95 lb snatches. My coach gave me tips all along to improve my form and technique. I was actually getting better with each rep. He’s amazing – he spots the errors and gives such great cues to fix them. Coach Matt is the man!

I reached the 1st 135 lb snatch with about 30 seconds left on the clock. My first attempt failed. 15 seconds to go. I gathered myself, took a deep breath and executed probably my best snatch EVER! I pulled myself under the bar and stood up strong. I was elated. 44 reps in total. But I think I may try this one again :-).

What this workout highlighted for me again was the CrossFit family and sense of community. I workout with the #530crew at 5:30am Monday to Friday. We have a great spirit – we laugh, we joke, we tease, we taunt but we also encourage each other and cheer each other on. We celebrate everyone’s achievements together. I love working out with these guys. A large part of why I do CrossFit is the fun I have with them. You can clearly see this in the photo above. The whole #530crew watching me and cheering me to my final rep. Love it! Absolutely love it! Thanks you guys – you’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

