Fear is the path to the Dark Side

A race to overcome fear

A race to overcome fear

Yesterday I was having a conversation with someone I’d just met. We were talking about the upcoming Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens. I have been a massive fan of Star Wars since I first saw ‘The Empire Strikes Back’ with my dad at the iconic Luxurama cinema in Wynberg, Cape Town. Going to ‘bioscope‘ was always a major treat and this one stands out in my memory. It may have been the start of my love of fantasy and sci-fi.

I was a bit frightened at the start of the sequence in the swamps of Dagobah. It looked creepy and scary. But this is also where we first meet Master Yoda, who, despite his size is one of the biggest icons of the Star Wars franchise and possibly had the strongest connection to the Force. Master Yoda is also the main source of wisdom throughout the series. His guidance always in the form of short, memorable pearls of insight. One of the more famous he delivers to Anakin Skywalker: ‘Fear is the path to the Dark Side. Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering.’

I thought about that line this morning as I contemplated my failure in the 7 day #YourTurnChallenge. I didn’t post anything yesterday – day 6. I missed a day and I was trying to figure out my next step. Do I bother with day 7? Is this failure final? Did anyone miss my daily post? Much of my responses to the above questions were initially quite negative. I didn’t want to bother today. I had failed and should give up blogging. Nobody would miss me.

Then I thought about Yoda’s words and I realised that I was giving in to fear. I was fearful that my blog isn’t good enough. That I don’t know what I’m doing. That people don’t care what I have to say so I shouldn’t say anything. I also spent much of yesterday angry. So fear did lead to anger :-). I’m writing today to ensure it doesn’t lead to hate because I want to do this regularly. I want to record my thoughts about things I find remarkable. I hope that people find these thoughts worthy reading but that is not the main motivator behind recording them. I’ve found that recording them in this way actually brings further insight and understanding. It’s helping me learn more about the world. About myself.

So, thanks, Winnie Kao for the challenge. It’s been a journey I’ve enjoyed and a journey I’ll continue.

Leave a Reply

