Nothing to write about…

BookshelfIt’s day 3 of the #YourTurnChallenge 7 day blogging event. I started my blog on Friday – 3 before the start of the challenge. I’ve found inspiration each day since then. Until tonight. Tonight I’m sitting in front of the computer screen staring at it. Waiting for the muse to visit. Waiting for a bolt from the blue. Waiting…

I started about 4 or 5 times. Different titles. Different angles to the same title. But I couldn’t get further than a few lines. It was a busy day with many things that could’ve/should’ve provided the required fuel to fire my creative juices. One difference, though, was that I didn’t run today. I cycled to and from work. But it’s a short ride and my main concern was traffic and, this morning, the freezing cold. My mind didn’t wander as it normally does when I’m exercising. I’m sure some of the false starts from tonight will end up being full posts in the future but I’m just not feeling them tonight.

Could it be that my muse only visits at when my body is so engaged in the physical activity that it gives my mind a chance to wander? Could it be that in order to become a better writer, a writer able to grind out page after page, day after day, I’m also going to have become a really fit writer? It seems so. This is may not be a bad thing. In fact, this is a good thing. I actually enjoy running and cycling. I enjoy exercise. I enjoy sports. This realization could be the start of wonderful relationship.

Let the games begin…

PS. Does that count as a blog post? :-).

Leave a Reply

